ACNEdote: A Tale of Two Acnes

img_0304-1

Yes, I know, I know. I tried to make it sound like Charles DickensA Tale of Two Cities.

Anyway, to begin, a lot of people (whether they are friends or strangers) like to give advices around one or two of them. I know that they’ve said it out of sympathy and concern. Some of the advices may sound like this :

“You should not eat that much beef!” Honey, I don’t really like beef or pork!

“You should drink roaccutane!” I already did!

“You should not use a moisturizer that’s too greasy!”  Yes, I know, I don’t just use any random moisturizer or sunscreen.

“You should eat fruits and veggies”  I love them.

Yes, I know. I’ve possibly done everything from people’s common advice on Acne. That didn’t help when I had my hormonal acne a year ago. Because, hormonal acne is pretty much like being poured by heavy rain and trying to control the weather by yourself.

Wait, how? Well, let me explain.



Imagine, you’ve watched the weather forecast on TV and the day was said to be bright with a very little chance of rain. You walk fearlessly with no umbrella, all joyful without worries. But all of a sudden, it began to rain. It began to rain heavily. You tried covering yourself, but it’s not help. You can only accept the fact that you’re drenched. “Why mother nature, why?!”; that’s what you’re dramatically crying about.

That’s how hormonal acne is. You’ve done everything, but it kept on going. It’s like you’re drenched by heavy rain, but in hormonal acne, you are drenched with acne.



Another acne that I had when I was younger was simply caused by clogged pores. This is simply because unhygienic. You have dirty hands and you let ‘em touch your face. So where the dirt touched, the pore clogged, and therefore, an acne will grow. It’s just like planting seeds into soil. If you don’t plant any, you will have none. If you plant the seeds, it’ll grow into a beautiful ‘tree’. So if you have this kind of acne, you were actually asking for it.

BUT THEN, there are a lot of people who are lucky enough that no matter how dirty their hands are and how many times they’ve touched their face, they still have clear skin (God bless their soul!)

So folks, there you go the tales of different acnes being re-told in the most less-cringed way.

 

 

Note : I am in no way a doctor/beautician/dermatologist/someone with a license to prescribe others. What works for me, may not work for you. But I do hope that what I’ll be sharing can help you, (yes, you!) and whoever came across here to know that you are not alone.

3 thoughts on “ACNEdote: A Tale of Two Acnes

Leave a Reply

