ACNE STORY II: First Breakout and Dermatologist

I’ll be talking about my first uncontrollable breakout that I had.

Remember what I said about having a similar feeling like Cinderella? Whereas everything changed overnight?


 

before the breakout (notice whereas all is clear?)


breakout on the forehead (notice the small bumps?)


Once I was back in town, the first thing that I did was visiting my usual dermatologist. Let’s say her name is Dr. A. 

I won’t go into details on her name as I don’t want to cause any defamation; remember, what works for me may not work for you, and vice versa. But to give a clue on her: she’s based in North Jakarta and her medicine smells sulfur-ish (Yum! Yes, I might sound like a creep)

Dr. A is a good doctor. I mean it.

My sister’s skin became clear because of her. A friend who experienced breakout also worked well with her treatment.

As for me? It did work. It did make my skin clear. In fact, my skin was really clear. But somehow, somehow, the trip to a ski resort with a below 0°C changed my skin.

One of the thing that I assumed happen was the heat and friction for the helmet caused my skin to breakout. That’s possible, considering I did sweat too when I was skiing.

 

However, Dr. A told me that it’s due to different temperature and humidity level that caused my skin to have a ‘shock’. She prescribed me with the usual medication and an anti-allergy cream. However, as weeks passed, none have really changed much.

Actually, as bad as the breakout was, it was nothing comparable to my breakout a year ago.

You may feel cringed at the look of the picture. I cringed too whenever I saw it as well.

 


   circa 2015


 

Apologies if I did make you cringe. But, don’t worry about me. I’m actually grateful and happy that I managed to keep track of it. It will be a good reminder (for me). On the other note, I’ve had experienced much worse skin condition than this and this.

I hope through my post, we can raise awareness. I know—we know, that we live in a society where a polished clear skin (sadly & somehow) reflect our value. I’ve come to the point of just chill and not to sweat the little things in life.



Till my next post, beautiful people!
Note : I am in no way a doctor/beautician/dermatologist/someone with a license to prescribe others. What works for me, may not work for you. But I do hope that what I’ll be sharing can help you, (yes, you!) and whoever came across here to know that you are not alone.

One thought on “ACNE STORY II: First Breakout and Dermatologist

Leave a Reply

