Introduction

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Hello!

Hi everyone! Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Clarissa and I’m based in Jakarta, Indonesia. Otters, whales, and piano are few of my favorite things.

I’ve decided to start writing a blog to share about my skin. I hope that my blog will be helpful and raise awareness of the negative impact that may rise from having acne. (I may post other things beside acne-related, though).

Few of the possible impacts (in which I’ve experienced it myself) are depression, low self-esteem & anxiety.


For some people, acne is just an acne.
For some, it reflects an unhealthy lifestyle.
For some, it reflects how much you don’t take care of yourself.
For some, it reflects how hygienic you are.

For some, you just look troublesome to them.

But little did they know, that it’s not as simple as that. Acne breakout may strike you all of a sudden & may come out non-stop. It may go on for weeks, months, or even worse years.

We know that what matters most is what’s inside us (personality, character, and whatever differentiate you from others). Audrey Hepburn once said “Happy girls are the prettiest girls”I couldn’t agree more with what she said, though!

However, let’s be truthful here : looking into the mirror everyday with unending zits will annoy you. Yep.


 IMG_1307


caption : Yep. Heck yea they’ll annoy you. This is not the worst…yet.

To us who are suffering with hormonal acnes, it is not easy to actually go through the process of healing your acne scar; your wallet is not the only thing that’s broken (Ha ha ha!) but, your skin is broken and your confidence is broken.

Some may easily associate your acne for not taking care of yourself. They think that you have not spent enough money or time to actually care about your skin. People will (somehow) look at your acne when they’re talking, instead of talking to you. They’ll easily judge us based on how we look.

I had one period of time, when others look at my acne when I’m talking, instead of looking into my eyes. I also had a few number of random people approached me and offered me medications for acne. Some would be nice enough to ask what happened to me, but some would just went on telling me what I should do (e.g. Use an anti-acne facial wash—which I’ve used it ever since my skin was clear). Yes, I know they all meant well.

But here’s what I want you to know : you are not alone. Whether you are battling dry patches on your skin or you are battling hormonal acne, please know that you are not alone. Each of us has different skin and not all of us are born with the genes of clear skin.

So, that’s pretty much it for introduction. Thank you for reading! Please look forward to my upcoming post! 

Note : I am in no way a doctor/beautician/dermatologist/someone with a license to prescribe others. What works for me, may not work for you. But I do hope that what I’ll be sharing can help you, (yes, you!) and whoever came across here to know that you are not alone.

One thought on “Introduction

Leave a Reply

